Night Three Preliminary and Special Award Winners of the 2019 Miss Utah Scholarship Competition

Miss Provo and Miss Timpanogos received preliminary awards during the third night of the Miss Utah Scholarship Competition held at the Eccles Theater. Multiple candidates were also awarded CMN Hospital awards for their fundraising efforts.

Talent Preliminary Winner

Miss Provo, Maren Cline performed  “Baroque Flamenco” on the harp. She is a graduate of  Brigham Young University with a degree in broadcast journalism and minor in music. She will receive a $100 scholarship.


Evening Wear/Social Impact Statement Winner

Miss Timpanogos, Hannah Sterling received the evening gown preliminary award and will receive a $100 scholarship. Hannah was escorted by her Little Miss, Brooklyn Brown. She’s a student at the University of Utah majoring in business marketing and ballet performance. Her social impact initiative is “Project LEAP–Launch Educational Arts Program.”

Children’s Miracle Network Hospitals Fundraising Winners

Nearly half of the 2019 candidates were recognized for their outstanding fundraising efforts for CMN Hospitals this year. Together, the Miracle Bronze, Silver, and Gold Award recipients raised a total of $59,082.92 for CMN Hospitals and Miss America scholarships.

Angelica Thomas, Chantel Townsend, Kaylee Mahoney, Morgan Olsen, Sasha Sloan, Taryn Christensen

Bronze Award Recipients — Raised over $500 for CMNH

  • Miss Beaver County, Abbigale George
  • Miss Zion, Abigail Laing
  • Miss Utah Valley University, Addison Black
  • Miss Lehi, Aliese Bumgardner
  • Miss Hobble Creek, Austri Ekker
  • Miss Southern Utah, Ayrion Orton
  • Miss Weber County, Gabby Shupe
  • Miss Herriman, Jade Hansen (their program was also given the Local Miracle Maker Award)
  • Miss Sandy, Makayla Conner
  • Miss Utah Valley, Meganne Ferrel
  • Miss Northern Utah, Navy Humphreys
  • Miss Murray, Savannah Angle

Silver Award Recipients — Raised over $1,000 for CMNH

  • Miss Washington County, Alivia Snow
  • Miss Greater Salt Lake, Dexonna Talbot
  • Miss Timpanogos, Hannah Sterling
  • Miss Farmington, Jesslyn Abendroth
  • Miss Pioneer Valley, Maria Stephens
  • Miss Salem, Sadie Stewart
  • Miss American Fork, Taylor Colby

Gold Award Recipients — Raised over $2,500 for CMNH

  • Miss Orem, Angelica Thomas
  • Miss Eastern Utah, Chantel Townsend
  • Miss Eagle Mountain, Kaylee Mahoney
  • Miss Spanish Fork, Morgan Olsen
  • Miss Deseret, Sasha Sloan
  • Miss Pleasant Grove, Taryn Christensen

Local Miracle Maker Awards

The Miracle Maker Award goes to the candidate that raised the most funds for CMNH. 

  • 2nd Runner Up — Miss Spanish Fork, Morgan Olsen
    • Raised $6,428.32 for CMNH
    • Winner of a $100 cash scholarship
  • 1st Runner Up — Miss Pleasant Grove, Taryn Christensen
    • Raised $8,162.08 for CMNH
      • Winner of a $150 cash scholarship
  • Miracle Maker winner — Miss Eastern Utah, Chantel Townsend
    • Raised $16,100.95 for CMNH
    • Will receive a plaque and a $250 cash scholarship

The Miss Herriman Scholarship program received the local CMNH Miracle Maker award for raising $2,925.

Miss Herriman, Jade Hansen receiving the award on behalf of the Miss Herriman Organization.